And now, a word from our sponsor (one of ’em, at least)

By Jed
8 weeks

So apparently, I’m going to be a dad. It’s a little daunting to think about, although I do keep telling myself that I’ve still got a few months to prepare (although I get the sneaking suspicion that nothing is really going to fully prepare me for this). But seeing that first picture of little Jed or Margo Jr. is definitely driving this all home, even if it is just a picture of what basically amounts to a half-inch tall blob.

I am looking forward to being a dad and all, but you have to admit, it’s kind of a strange concept to wrap your head around. While I’m sure that the people who know me will all say I’ll be a great parent, blah blah blah, I bet at least some of them think it’s pretty funny, too. I mean, I still get into heated arguments about who would win in a fight, Batman or Superman (answer: Batman). And with my luck, Margo’s genes will probably win out and we’ll end up with some cool athletic, musically inclined kid who’ll think comics are for nerds (they, are, but so what?). Not that that would be so bad, but then who’s gonna inherit my massive comic book collection? I suppose it could be worse, though. We could get a kid who’ll think that Superman would win.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary Gremmler (soon to be known as Nana) said,

    Jed…I KNOW you will be a wonderful father…maybe just a little over-protective…but still wonderful!!

  2. 2

    Kym Gremmler said,

    Congratulations!!! I am so excited for you. Hello and congratulations to your mom too! Steve and I grew up calling my mom’s mom NANA- we still call her that to this day. Nana is going to be such an important part of your childs life. How wonderful…

  3. 3

    Momma Rowder said,

    I am so excited to be a Nana- the name my scottish grandmother chose and grandpa was pop pop! go figure! I know you will be a great Dad because I know you will be totally enthralled and involved from the start! Always the sign of a great Dad!

  4. 4

    Liz Esway said,

    Hi Jed and Margo,

    Haven’t had an update from your mom about how things are going.
    Hope all is well there.
    Assume some are gaining weight, and some are just waiting!!

    Well let me hear back so I know you three are good.

    Also, please let your mom know of the contact.

    Love — from your distant and almost elderly cousin in Pgh
    Liz

  5. 5

    Paul Gremmler (POP) said,

    Guy & Gal,
    “Practice Practice Practice- Makes purfect”
    Fantastic shots of my Grandson.
    You guys will be fantastic parents!! Keep up the good work.

    Cherish all your Happy moments: they make a fine cushion for old age.

    Love, Dad (pop)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

