G.I. Joe vs. Barbie

By Jed
22 weeks, 1 day

As you’ve all heard by now, Margo and I are having a boy. Yay! Just so you all know, until the kid is actually named, he will be unofficially referred to as Jed Junior (but I can promise you, that will definitely NOT be his real name). Had it been a girl, her codename would have been Margo Junior. It’s nice to finally know the gender of our kid so that we can now use the proper pronouns, begin to narrow down the list of names, and start decorating and buying stuff for him.

Margo was pretty sure right off that bat that we would be having a boy. I initially thought we might have a girl, partly out of contrarianism (it’s not that much fun guessing an outcome like this when you both agree), and partly, I think, because I kind of wanted a girl a little bit more.

But don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty psyched to be having a boy. Just the other day, we were out shopping and I saw some dinosaur-themed cups which my mom ended up getting for us (Thanks, mom!) That got me thinking about all the fun stuff that boys usually get into that will probably/hopefully be in our future: dinosaurs, trucks, cowboys, astronauts, football, and of course, superheroes.

I would’ve tried to get Margo Junior into all that stuff, too. And it would be pretty cool to eventually have a grown-up daughter who would get excited with me about the new sci-fi or comic book movie coming out. But I have to admit that my comic book and DVD collections will probably end up being appreciated more by Jed Junior.

I know there’s no guarantee that our son will like some, let alone most, of the same things we’re into. But I think the chances are pretty good that I will eventually have a new buddy with which to geek out over Star Wars, watch the da Bears on Sunday afternoons (maybe they’ll even have a decent QB by then), and/or go to the comic book store every Wednesday. Fortunately, he’ll also have his mother’s influence to keep him from being a total nerd, like his dad.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Spamboy said,

    Hey, Jed! Nice to see you write. As for the combination of sci-fi geekery/X chromosomes, it will happen someday — and probably before you know it. I hope to have one of each someday, so hopefully that will up the odds of having someone in my family worthy enough to inherit my Iron Man collection. 🙂

  2. 2

    Mary G. (Nana) said,

    Jed…If “Jed Jr.” turns out to be anything like you…he will be the most wonderful son ever! I know, I know…too sentimental…but very true.

    I can’t wait to buy him many of the same toys you had as a kid…that’s assuming they still make them!

    With a mother as terrific as Margo and a father like you…”Jed Jr.” has it made!

    Love to the three of you!!!!!

  3. 3

    Momma Rowder, Nanna to be said,

    I agree with your Mom, Jed- you will be the best Dad a kid could want! I can already tell you will be involved from the start! I know Rick’s best Dad trips were to the library every weekend- the kids would each come home with a bag of books! (ask Margo) Those involved Dad’s are the BEST! Can’t wait to meet this munchkin- he looks cute already!
    I do have the secret to determining the sex of the next – so maybe you can have one of each! Listen to me- haven’t even got this one on the ground! Its just so fun to be the Nanna- Mary and I are in for the ride of our lives!

  4. 4

    Kym Gremmler said,

    Can not wait to help build Jed Jr’s G.I. JOE and BARBIE collection with you- as well as books, comics, movies, games, clothes, fun times, memories and so much love from such a great collection of family in your life!!! I’m so excited for him- and you!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

