Celebrazione del bambino!

By Margo
35 weeks, 5 days

Last month, Jed’s mom Mary threw us (okay, me) a fantastic shower! It was held at a little Italian restaurant in Andersonville called Anteprima. Mary had found this gem and taken Jed and me there for dinner several weeks beforehand to sample the menu. Yum! So good. (Not that I’m super-picky right now, anyway, but it was very tasty!)

I wore a non-maternity dress, if you can believe it. I’m quite round, but this frock seemed to handle it without a hitch. It was given to me by a friend and coworker of mine, who at the time said, “I thought this dress made me look pregnant, so I thought I’d give it to you.” Hey, that works.

Several of Mary’s good friends were in attendance, as were some of mine. It was an eclectic mix of fellow graphic designers, former co-workers, longtime book clubbers (both Mary’s and mine!), old friends and new. It was so nice to visit with everyone and catch up, at least for a little while. Fascinating, as well, to witness conversations struck between people I know through such separate circumstances.

The celebration was festive, and the prosecco was flowing. My friend Anjie, a fellow redhead preggo (check out our belly comparison picture below), started a refreshing trend of ordering some sort of tasty Italian soda. I did try the prosecco, though. Magnifíque! Oh wait, wrong language.

Everyone seemed to get a kick out seeing the belly. That must be why baby showers happen so late in the game. I guess it would be a bit less fun if the guest of honor’s belly hadn’t yet reached beach-ball-like rotundity. That sort of thing has its biological effects, though. (I missed a bit of the shower, due to my many visits to the powder room.) It was so fun to show off the 3D ultrasound photo of our little guy to everyone who could spare a moment. (I’ll post it here soon, I promise!)

As is customary, Jed made his entrance later during the event, in time to receive some hearty congratulations… and to help me open some of the more unwieldy presents. (I’m glad the infant tub wasn’t wrapped!) Also helping was Mary’s good friend Jana, whom I met during my first summer in Chicago – along with Mary and before Jed. My, how things have changed since then!

All in all, it was a lovely affair. Mary had even arranged favors on the way out of Anteprima’s door: Italian-inspired spice-blends with handwritten notes attached. As I’m sure the guests would say, “Molto buono!”

Why the Italian theme, you ask? Jed and I were there last December (thanks to Mary).
You do the math!

Thanks, Kym, for taking all the wonderful pics!  🙂

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary G. (Nana) said,

    Margo…it was a real pleasure (& thrill) for me to throw this shower for you. You know how excited I am about the arrival of Grembaby Boy! And it was fun to see all of my friends, and some of yours, interact. It was a great bunch of extraordinary women. I’m so glad you enjoyed the afternoon. Love ya!

  2. 2

    Spamboy said,

    Uber-cute! And look at your bump — exciting!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

